DJ Jake Rudh hosted a second Prince Tribute this summer at the famous First Avenue nightclub in Minneapolis last Saturday night. I hadn’t been to a show at First Avenue in over 28 years; last time I was there, we rocked out to Yothu Yindi.

I went with my friend Sarah, and we danced, virtually nonstop, from 9:30 until 2 am. Since I’ll never have an opportunity to go to a Prince show, I wanted to get some funk on and really dance in tribute. The music was great, and Sarah introduced me to Jake at the end of the night, right before we left. Jake spun the classics, and went into some deeper tracks. It felt like old times when the mix turned up some of Prince’s influences, like Stevie Wonder. Man, I remember dancing to Superstition back to grade school! Included some artists who covered Prince tunes; Bangles, Sinead O’Connor, Sheila E., Sheena Easton, and more.

The show was great, and we left the club, singing Bowie tunes as we headed over to catch the last train back to the station where I’d parked the car. We ended up missing it, though, and had to walk from downtown to my house in South Minneapolis. A bummer at first, we ended up singing songs, laughing at each other’s random wit and took in the wild life of Minneapolis after bar rush. Left the downtown train station at 2:20, walked into the door at home around 4 in the morning, and pretty much headed straight for bed and sleep for the night.

We had a fabulous time. Feel like I still got it going on… I look forward to more of this thing called “a social life” soon. Some pics of the show below…

Leave a Reply

